Every five years Metropolitan State University of Denver, Center for Visual Art reflects on the creative output of the MSU Denver art department by presenting some of the best alumni artwork. This year’s iteration Vault opens May 22 and runs through July 25.The exhibition was juried by two MSU Denver alumni who are working in the local creative industry.  The exhibition was co-curated by Leila Armstrong and Matt Chasansky.

Leila Armstrong, MSU Denver class of 2006, is visiting faculty in Art History, Theory andCriticism. She received her Masters in Art History from the University of Colorado at Boulder. She co-curated Spatial Stories: Topographies of Change, an exhibition of contemporary photography at the Center for Visual Art in early 2015.

Matt Chasansky began his career in museum education and curation prior to, and for a decade after, his graduation from MSU Denver in 2001. He transitioned into municipal arts administration as director of the Denver International Airport Art and Culture Program. Matt now serves as manager of the Boulder Office of Arts + Culture including public art, cultural policy, and creative sector initiatives.

Vault will kick off the Center for Visual Art’s 25th anniversary which will culminate on July 17, 4:00 – 8:00pm with a “street fair” birthday celebration in the parking lot. Live music and visual art by MSU Denver alumni and current students will disrupt the function of the parking lot. A new outdoor mural will be unveiled, and a parklet designed by industrial design students will deliver an intervention to provide an outdoor haven in the sea of asphalt. Drinks will be provided by Tivoli Brewing.

VAULT Artists: Deidre Adams, Phil Bender, Neil Bigley, Mickey Boyd, Kristin Buck, Jody Chapel, Cara Coder, Andrea Crane, Valerie Dillon, Heather Doyle-Maier, Jenifer Erickson, Corrina Espinosa, Virginia Folkestad, Mark Friday, Jennifer Ghormley, Jason Lee Gimbel, Kathleen J. Graves, Celina Grigore, Kristin Gruenberger, Megan Harrison, Katy Havens, Susan Helbig, Katie Hoffman, Daniel House Kelly, Izzy Lozano, Korri Marshall, Dawn McFadden, Skyler McGee, Mary Nehls, Pattie Parkhurst, Tyler Peterson, Dania Pettus, Jennifer Pokorny, Shawn Reinoehl, Claudia Roulier, Kelsey Sailsbery, Dave Seiler, Casey Steuber, Shawn Taylor, Patrice Washington, Mario Zoots.